Chi Kung-syllabus
Monday, 11 October 2010 11:24

The chi kung-syllabus in Shaolin Wahnam consists of three stages:


Elementary Stage

Introduces the student to the basics of chi kung training, and helps build the best foundation for good benefits and further development. The main emphasis is in achieving and maintaining radiant health and abundant vitality.

Intermediate Stage

Includes many new chi kung techniques and skills, and the previously learned are methodically deepened and refined. Personal development is highlighted: The student is taught how to reach his/her potential through Shaolin Chi Kung.

Advanced Stage

Moves the emphasis to spiritual cultivation. Powerful techniques and skills are taught that pave the way to the essence of Shaolin Chi Kung. The student matures into a high-level Shaolin-practitioner.


chi-kung-practicing-group-1Every stage includes four courses, and each course lasts one three-month teaching period. Contrary to our Shaolin Kungfu syllabus, the order of learning different chi kung courses can vary: As an example: A student might start the Intermediate Stage, for instance, with the "Shaolin Eighteen-Lohan Art" -course. Furthermore, some courses such as the "Shaolin Eighteen Chi Kung Techniques" can be learned at any stage. An exception to this rule is the first course of the syllabus, which is the beginners course for every student.

Progress in our chi kung-training certainly does not end with completing the 3rd stage - the vast scope and depth of the Shaolin arts would easily allow composing even dozens of different chi kung-syllabuses. However, the purpose of our chi kung syllabus is to enable the student to grow into a high-level Shaolin practitioner, providing the student with the skills and confidence to choose the direction of his/her further progress. After completing the syllabus, the student can focus on deepening the skills and preparing for more advanced training, by herself or under the instruction of his/her Sifu.

Elementary Stage


1.   Eighteen Lohan Hands, part 1

Forms:   The first 8 exercises of the Eighteen Lohan Hands which correspond with the Eight Pieces of Brocade.

Skills:   Co-ordinate form and breathing and generate an energy flow.

Application:   To maintain general good health and vitality.

Philosophy:   A clear understanding between chi kung, which is energy exercise, and gentle physical exercise.

2.   Eighteen Lohan Hands, part 2

Forms:   The remaining 10 exercises of the Eighteen Lohan Hands.

Skills:   To generate energy flow using form, breathing or mind.

Application:   To overcome illness and maintain good health.

Philosophy:   Chi kung is a cultivation of jing, qi and shen, or physical form, energy and spirit.


3.   Self-Manifested Chi Movement

Forms:   Three sets of self-manifested chi movement exercises, namely "Fish-Flip", "Dancing Dairy", and "Swallow through Clouds".

Skills:   To generate vigorous energy flow using form.

Application:   It is platinum-card chi kung for overcoming pain and illness, and maintaining good health.

Philosophy:   How chi kung overcome illness and promote health, vitality and longevity.

4.   Massaging Internal Organs

Forms:   Using Separating Water, Merry-Go-Round and Nourishing Kidneys.

Skills:   Massaging the lungs, stomach and spleen, and kidneys.

Application:   Overcoming emotional as well as physical problems.

Philosophy:   The relationship between emotional problems and blockage in respective organs.

Intermediate Stage

5.   Shaolin Eighteen Chi Kung Techniques

Forms:   The Shaolin Eighteen Chi Kung Techniques for Health and Vitality.

Skills:   The exercises may be practiced at the physical, chi kung, martial and spiritual levels.

Application:   Maintaining fitness, overcoming pain and illness, combat application and spiritual cultivation.

Philosophy:   Different levels and functions of chi kung practice.


6.   Shaolin Eighteen-Lohan Art

Forms:   18 exercises from the Eighteen Lohan-Art.

Skills:   Generating energy flow and exploding force.

Application:   Maintaining fitness, overcoming pain and illness, generating force and spiritual cultivation.

Philosophy:   Difference between internal force and muscular strength.

7.   Internal Force and Mental Clarity

Forms:   The best selection for students' needs from the following force-training methods: "Three-Circle Stance", "Lifting Sun and Moon", "Horse-Riding Stance", "Golden Bridge", "Lifting Water" and "Grasping Sparrow’s Tail".

Skills:   Developing internal force and mental clarity, especially for non-kungfu students.

Application:   Enhancing our work and play.

Philosophy:   Why not thinking of anything leads to mental clarity.


8.   Cosmic Shower

Forms:   "Carrying the Moon" or "Lifting the Sky".

Skills:   Generate a cosmic shower.

Application:   To cleanse as well as strengthen the practitioner physically, emotionally, mentally and spiritually.

Philosophy:   The two dimensions of chi kung, namely cleansing and strengthening.

Advanced Stage


9.   Abdominal Breathing

Forms:   The technique of Abdominal Breathing.

Skills:   To build a pearl of energy at the dan tian.

Application:   To attain peak performance in work and play.

Philosophy:   The three functions of internal force.

10.   Sinew Metamorphosis

Forms:   The 12 exercises of Sinew Metamorphosis (Yi Jin Jing).

Skills:   To develop mental clarity and internal force.

Application:   To attain peak performance in work and play.

Philosophy:   Becoming a scholar-warrior.

11.   Cosmic Breathing

Forms:   The technique of "dan tian breathing".

Skills:   To pulsate with the Cosmos.

Application:   To expand the spirit.

Philosophy:   The meaning and significance of jing, qi and shen, or form, energy and spirit.

12.   Merging with Cosmos

Forms:   Any one or two of the Sinew Metamorphosis exercises.

Skills:   To expand into the Cosmos.

Application:   To attain a spiritual awakening.

Philosophy:   Moral development and spiritual cultivation.

Last Updated on Tuesday, 29 March 2011 09:07